travelshasem.blogg.se

Surfer 12 youtube
Surfer 12 youtube












surfer 12 youtube
  1. #Surfer 12 youtube how to
  2. #Surfer 12 youtube skin
  3. #Surfer 12 youtube pro

Ben Gravy was the first one to really tell me how to do it. It was strange transitioning from the surf industry norm of going on trips and saving clips, to just filming everything and releasing it right away. I’m basically documenting my life, and at the end, I’ll be able to go back and look at it week by week. To me, your vlog almost feels like a curated version of the Truman Show, with how you bring us inside your daily life. That’s when I actually think I’m the most relaxed and natural. But I’ve always been more comfortable doing little interviews with myself than having someone else film me. I think my first “vlog” was actually back in 2009, before they were really a thing, when I documented a trip to New Jersey for a surf contest and missed the best Lighthouse swell in forever. If you dive into my YouTube, you’ll see that I’ve been doing that stuff for a while. Was it uncomfortable speaking in front of a camera? At that point, I’d been following fishing and photography vlogs for a couple of years already and I just went, “Man, if they can pick up a camera, document life and get a giant following, maybe I can, too.”

surfer 12 youtube

I just decided I was wasting a lot of stuff, and that I should put something out weekly. But I ended up with was a ton of clips that didn’t go anywhere, because I wouldn’t want to show them on Instagram if I was saving them for my video, so a lot of that stuff would never got used. And really, I started it because I was already spending so much time editing for Instagram and Facebook and one long YouTube video here and there. I counted 68 videos since you first announced a vlog series. You’ve been vlogging for about a year now. So it was like, “Cool, I can upload surf clips to send to my sponsors so they know what I’m doing.”

#Surfer 12 youtube skin

It’s safe to say you’ve had skin in the game for a while. Your first YouTube upload was 12 years ago.

#Surfer 12 youtube pro

And so we called Barley to ask: Is it all worth it? Is YouTube a viable financial future? Is “vlogging” a passing fad for pro surfers or is this only the beginning?

surfer 12 youtube

Keeping up with the vlog–the planning, filming and editing of it himself (not to mention all the actual surfing)–each and every week is no small task. But he has been a regular uploader for the last decade, and last year he decided to create a weekly vlog detailing basically everything in his life: from chasing swells to fishing, family vacations and everything in between. Brett Barley will be the first to tell you he wasn’t the first surfer to enter the recently en vogue YouTube Vlog world.














Surfer 12 youtube